Uncategorized

Hibiscus and Hope

He sent me a hibiscus flower barrette – a small memento of his trip.   Their first together, in this new life we both hoped would be forever.    I never had a “real” brother, you see.   I’d always wanted one – preferably older, thank you very much…  So to get him “married off” – well, I felt maybe I could sleep better at night now.    Knowing he would be  happy.     That he found someone.

Except it didn’t so much work out that way so far.    So much so that I very nearly only had that damn barrette and this postcard left to remember him by…

Standard

Leave a Reply

